Painted plaid trunk

I’m finally back! Sorry about the radio silence… I’ve been working on some projects! I don’t know how the multitude of bloggers who blog every day do it!
My sweet friend and co-worker Tracy called my classroom one day a few years ago. She said she had a trunk that was damaged, and before she took it to goodwill, she wanted to see if I wanted it. I think at the time one of my boys had a pirate fixation. So not being a person who turns away from a freebie, I took it, thinking I’d figure out what to do with it later.

Andy just LOVES it when I do this.

Keeping with my track record so far, I don’t have pics of the “before”. But it was a decent storage trunk, save for the giant gash in the leather on the top of it. My conversation with Andy when I got it home went something like this:

Andy: what are you going to do with this?
Me: I don’t know yet. I’ll put it in the garage for now.
Andy: great. Just great.

After collecting a thick layer of dust, I finally got an idea. I wish I could find the original pic that I saw, I don’t want to claim that this idea just popped into my brain on its own. My first step was to use a utility knife and remove the rest of the leather. This was pretty easy.

20130808-213153.jpg

This is what it looked like when I started painting. I actually taped one side, and it took so long that I decided a small brush would be easier than tape. So this is what that small brush did. The color I used is “ostrich” by Dutch Boy. We used it on our bathroom walls, and had some leftover. I like that it’s not pure white.

20130808-213527.jpg

I started painting stripes freehand, in different widths. I didn’t want “perfect”. Wiggly lines were okay. This color is Marmalade by Glidden.

20130808-213713.jpg

I continued the lines down the sides.

20130808-213806.jpg

I made some more lines in varying widths with lime green acrylic paint…

20130808-213850.jpg

And a turquoise color too.

20130808-213931.jpg

So much love. Yep, I did this! What do you think? 🙂

Leave a Reply

